Stop Stressing the Digits

We need to stop obsessing over the vanity metrics.

Lucas Hawthorne

--

Numbers aren’t everything. Photo credit: Socialite Life

I actually discovered the news of Instagram hiding the likes count on their platform for some users in the U.S. while looking for a photo for today’s article (above), and being the perfect segue into the topic I was going to go over anyway, let’s talk about it.

“Instagram plans to remove the number of “likes” visible on posts for some users in the U.S. to decrease competitive pressure among people on the photo-sharing service,” says an article on Bloomberg.

It is evident that society is so far gone into obsessing over vanity metrics that Instagram has chosen to go to the extent that they have.

I don’t think we fully comprehend how sad that is. The fact that Instagram has chosen to make that adjustment is a bad sign of society’s current mentality on social media platforms.

And I don’t mean to be a Debbie Downer, but I’d rather give my brutally honest thoughts on something than pretending like I feel everything is okay.

Let’s get this out of the way:

We have become insecure, jealous, and…

--

--

Lucas Hawthorne

A guide to life and self-improvement, brought to you by a magazine-published Gen Z-er. I'm not on Medium anymore, find me here: https://www.lucashawthorne.com/